Kliment Music Publishers
Kolingasse 15, 1090 Vienna, Austria, Tel. +43 1 317 5147, Fax +43 1 310 0827
Home | Search | Shopping basket | My account | Log in Deutsch|Espa˝ol|Franšais|Italiano|Nederlands
 Catalogue
Keyword search:
Sheet music
CDs
Books
Donautal Music Publisher
Franz Moser Publisher
Sheet music database
 Info
Composers
Abbreviations
About us
Contact us
Sheet music/scoresSheet music/scores
Washington Post - click for larger image
click for larger image
Title Washington Post
Category Concert/wind/brass band
Subcategory Street march
Instrumentation Ha (concert/wind band)
Instrumentation/info MBF (card size)
Format DirStm (Condensed Score and parts)
Publisher's article no. KL 990a
Double number/set Kadetten-Marsch
Price 36.00 EUR (incl. 10 % Austrian VAT)
Composer Sousa, John Philip
Arranger Weber, Hans
Difficulty level 2
Sound sample
Video sample Do you know of a video that demonstrates this item well? Please send us a link or send us the video via e-mail (office@kliment.at) or snail mail. Thank you.
Available yes yes
Programme notes: additional text

The Washington Post (often called "The Washington Post March") is a march composed by John Philip Sousa in 1889. Since then, it has remained as one of his most popular marches throughout the United States and many other countries. In 1889, the owners of The Washington Post newspaper requested that John Philip Sousa, the leader of the United States Marine Band, compose a march for the newspaper's essay contest awards ceremony. Sousa obliged; "The Washington Post March" was introduced at the ceremony on June 15, 1889, and it became quite popular. It led to a British journalist dubbing Sousa "The March King". Sousa is honored in The Washington Post building for his contribution to the newspaper and his country.

Quelle/Source: Wikipedia

In the 1880s, several newspapers in Washington, D.C., competed fiercely for the public's favor. One of these newspapers, the Washington Post, organized the so-called "Washington Post Amateur Authors' Association" and sponsored an essay competition for school children. Frank Hatton and Beriah Wilkins, the owners of the newspaper, asked Sousa, the then leader of the naval band, to compose a march for the awards ceremony.

The ceremony took place at the Smithsonian compound on June 15, 1889. President Harrison and other dignitaries were among the huge crowd. When the new march was played by Sousa and the Marine Band, it was enthusiastically received, and within days it became extremely popular in Washington.

Besides "The Stars and Stripes Forever", the "Washington Post" was Sousa's most famous march. It was a standard feature of Sousa Band performances and was often called for openly when it was not scheduled for a program. It was painful for Sousa to tell that, like "Semper Fidelis" and other marches of the time, he received only $35 for it, while the publisher made a fortune.

Today, a spotlight in a Washington Post common room illuminates a life-size color portrait of black-bearded Sousa in his scarlet Marine Band uniform. It is the newspaper's homage to the man who first brought it worldwide fame.

Quelle/Source: Paul E. Bierley, The Works of John Philip Sousa (Westerville, Ohio: Integrity Press, 1984)

Repertory of the marches

In order to listen to the sound samples you need an MP3 player, which you can download free, for example:

Recommendations:
Max und Moritz - Das neue Kindermusical, Buch und CD - click here

Rolly Polly Playing Time - click here
Created by MusicaInfo.net

Musikverlag Kliment
Kolingasse 15, 1090 Wien, Österreich, Tel. +43 1 317 5147-0, Fax +43 1 317 5147-20
Startseite | Suche | Warenkorb | Mein Konto | Anmelden English|Español|Français|Italiano|Nederlands
 Katalog
Stichwortsuche:
Noten
CDs
Bücher
Musikverlag Donautal
Edition Franz Moser
Int. Notendatenbank
 Infos
Komponisten
Wertungsstücke
Abkürzungen
Über uns
Kontakt/AGB
Notenblätter/PartiturenNotenblätter/Partituren
Washington Post - klicken für größeres Bild
klicken für größeres Bild
Titel Washington Post
Kategorie Blasorchester/HaFaBra
Unterkategorie Strassenmarsch
Besetzung Ha (Blasorchester)
Besetzungsart/Infos MBF (Marschbuch-Format)
Format/Umfang DirStm (Direktionsstimme und Stimmen)
Verlags-Artikelnr. KL 990a
Doppelnummer/Set Kadetten-Marsch
Verkaufspreis 34,00 EUR (inkl. 10 % österr. USt.)
Komponist Sousa, John Philip
Arrangeur Weber, Hans
Schwierigkeitsgrad 2
Videobeispiel Kennen Sie ein Video, das diesen Artikel gut demonstriert? Bitte nennen Sie uns den Link oder schicken Sie uns das Video per E-Mail (office@kliment.at) oder Post. Danke.
Lieferbar ja ja
Programmnotizen: Ergänzungstext

The Washington Post (oft auch "The Washington Post March" genannt) ist ein Marsch, der von John Philip Sousa 1889 komponiert wurde. Seitdem ist es einer seiner beliebtesten Märsche in den Vereinigten Staaten und vielen anderen Ländern. 1889 baten die Besitzer der Washington Post Zeitung John Philip Sousa, den Führer der United States Marine Band, um einen Marsch für die Preisverleihung des Essaywettbewerbs der Zeitung. Sousa verpflichtet; "The Washington Post March" wurde bei der Zeremonie am 15. Juni 1889 vorgestellt und wurde sehr beliebt. Es führte dazu, dass ein britischer Journalist Sousa "The March King" nannte. Sousa wird im Gebäude der Washington Post für seinen Beitrag für die Zeitung und sein Land geehrt.

----------
Quelle/Source: Wikipedia

In den 1880er Jahren wetteiferten mehrere Zeitungen in Washington, D.C., heftig um die Gunst der Öffentlichkeit. Eine dieser Zeitungen, die Washington Post, organisierte die sogenannte "Washington Post Amateur Authors' Association" und sponserte einen Aufsatzwettbewerb für Schulkinder. Frank Hatton und Beriah Wilkins, die Eigentümer der Zeitung, baten Sousa, den damaligen Leiter der Marineband, einen Marsch für die Preisverleihung zu komponieren.

Die Zeremonie fand am 15. Juni 1889 auf dem Smithsonian-Gelände statt. Präsident Harrison und andere Würdenträger gehörten zu der riesigen Menge. Als der neue Marsch von Sousa und der Marine Band gespielt wurde, wurde er enthusiastisch aufgenommen, und innerhalb weniger Tage wurde er in Washington außerordentlich populär.

Neben "The Stars and Stripes Forever" war die "Washington Post" der bekannteste Marsch von Sousa. Er war ein Standard bei Auftritten der Sousa Band und wurde oft offen eingefordert, wenn es nicht für ein Programm vorgesehen war. Es war schmerzhaft für Sousa zu erzählen, dass er, wie "Semper Fidelis" und andere Märsche dieser Zeit, nur 35 Dollar dafür erhielt, während der Verleger ein Vermögen verdiente.

Heute beleuchtet ein Scheinwerfer in einem Gemeinschaftsraum der Washington Post ein lebensgroßes Farbporträt des schwarzbärtigen Sousa, der in seiner scharlachroten Marine Band Uniform dargestellt wird. Es ist die Hommage der Zeitung an den Mann, der ihr zum ersten Mal weltweiten Ruhm bescherte.

----------
Quelle/Source: Paul E. Bierley, The Works of John Philip Sousa (Westerville, Ohio: Integrity Press, 1984)

Repertorium der Märsche

Empfehlungen:
Requiem von Julius Fucik, arr. Eduard Scherzer - hier klicken

Rolly Polly Playing Time - hier klicken
Created by MusicaInfo.net